November 9th: Getting to Work

I know a lot of people who are saying that they aren’t going to work or school tomorrow. This day has been exhausting, and many are depressed and disheartened. I don’t blame them. But I won’t be one of them.

You better believe that, at 8 am, I’m going to be in Bible class, tired and stressed. You better believe that I’m going to daily services held at school. You better believe that I’m going to get to work. Because today is the day that I’m needed most. The world needs leaders, rabbis, who are willing to work hard when the world looks bleak. Today is the day that we need those individuals who are willing to find hope in the despair. Today is the day that we need to fight for our country and our values, even when the majority of our country are willing to side with bigotry and xenophobia, to vote for fear and not for hope.

Now is not the time to abandon the country and move to Canada. It is the time to fight, to demand that our country represent our values. My tradition teaches me to protect the weak and stand up for the downtrodden, to feed the hungry and to clothe the naked. We are a country that was built upon a foundation of taking care of all members of society, and I’ll be damned if I let a racist, homophobic, womanizer take that away from us.

So I’m going to school tomorrow to work toward being a leader. The world needs real, true, moral guides right now. We can’t afford to rest.

1 thought on “November 9th: Getting to Work”

  1. Thank you Hugs much appreciation!

    On Tue, Nov 8, 2016 at 9:50 PM, Zoot Perspective wrote:

    > zootperspective posted: “I know a lot of people who are saying that they > aren’t going to work or school tomorrow. This day has been exhausting, and > many are depressed and disheartened. I don’t blame them. But I won’t be one > of them. You better believe that, at 8 am, I’m going to” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

